Raspberry Creek Fabrics Swim Tour

53726508_10218439286630830_8413799568033972224_n

First and foremost, I want to thank RCF for having me on this tour and 5 out of 4 Patterns for their generosity in sponsoring my patterns.  You guys are amazing!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, if you follow me at all, you now realize that I did the thing I swore a billion times never to do again…I made a bathing suit.  Don’t get me wrong, making your own suit is super rewarding! The last time I made one, however, was just a test of my patience and sanity. But when you’re contacted and ASKED to make one…you don’t say “No.”  You just don’t. I geared up to curse myself, BUT… this time was different, folks!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I didn’t know it was going to be different at first, but as my fabrics started to arrive, I realized that fabric is EVERYTHING when it comes to making swimwear (at least it is for me). RCF’s swim and lining is a much easier fabric to work with than the last I’d used.  It’s not super slippery or difficult to keep in place.  It’s got a nice weight to it and handles really well.  My very picky machine was also a fan of it. Instead of making it a snack, chewing it up and spitting it back out, it just stitched over like butter.   I was able to sew up my suit and actually really enjoy the process. Now I’m not saying that the last fabric I used was necessarily poor quality, but not the type I prefer.  I just want to put that out there.  I MUCH MUCH prefer this weight. MUCH MUCH MUCH.  MUUUUUUUUUCH.  I think my point is coming across….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The print I used was the Tropical Bird Matte Swim fabric. Its such a perfect summer print.  I couldn’t be further away from a tropical environment, but these birds bring me to a paradise and slap a mai tai in my thirsty little hand.  Haha!  With a little umbrella in it, obviously.  OR!  Maybe its a strawberry margarita- blended of course.  Mmmmm.  I think I’m of topic. It’s got all of the colors that I love and depending on your personal style, you can really use any coordinate solid or print with it.  RCF has a bunch to choose from. I used what I had on hand but if you search through their swim category, I bet you’ll find something perfect for your project…and only have to shop in one place!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The patterns I used were the Agility Bra, Tank and Dress for the top and the Riptide Reversible Shorties for the bottom half of my suit.  I. LOVE. THEM.  The instructions were clear and I really liked sewing them up.  I even bought all the notions AND new thread.  I mean…GO ME!  I braved the public for this suit.  It was THAT worth it.  I did have to stretch the clear elastic on my legs a little more than recommended because I guess I have a weird butt/thigh transition area and was having some cheek peek happening. But everything is as snug as a bug in a rug now…you can rest easy when you see me at the pool. BONUS, I can wear the top with jeans and I don’t look like I’m just walking around in a bathing suit.  If you live near a beach or vacation near one with a good pier and restaurants, you can easily transition from swimming to hanging out without having to totally change your clothes. I LOVE this feature! And the RCF prints really facilitate this look too.  The patterns and fabrics are a great pairing. I’m going to get a lot of use out of this sew.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

SuitUpFlatLay

  It’s been a while since a project was just fun…and this was super fun!  Positivity is ALWAYS welcome here. I’m actually sort of looking forward to warmer temps now.  SORT OF.  Don’t get carried away, Mother Nature!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To wrap things up, I want to give some shout outs. First  to The Fabric Fairy, who got my swim elastic out to me on time for this project even though she was under the weather.  AMAZING service! And second to my 9 year old daughter for being my little photographer.  The weather is mostly cloudy this week and our window of opportunity was small.  She stepped in and helped a mama out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stay cool, y’all!

-Crystal-

Make sure to check out the other fantastic bloggers on this tour and give our sponsors and hosts some support and follows as well.  Some have even included a savings code for you just because they’re awesome.

Make sure to check out the other bloggers on the tour!

 

 

Friday: Its Liesel / Amber Lauren Boutique / Violette Field Threads / Confetti Unicorn

For this week, March 11-15, 2019, our readers can enjoy 20% off SWIM ONLY from these sponsors!
Wardrobe By Me code: Raspberry Creek
Simple Life Pattern Company code: SLPCO-RCSWIM
Titchy Threads code: SUITUP19

5oo4 code: RCFSWIM

and 15% off SWIM ONLY from Jalie code: SWIMTOUR15OFF



A huge thank you to all of our sponsors!

 

Boo Designs / Sew A Little Seam / Titchy Threads / Simple Life Pattern Co. / Jalie

Little Lizard King / Made for Mermaids / Love Notions / Striped Swallow Designs

Patterns for Priates / Violette Field Threads / Wardrobe By Me / 5oo4 / Sew Like My Mom

 

1 thought on “Raspberry Creek Fabrics Swim Tour”

Leave a comment